Magar caste is largest indigenous ethnic group of Nepal accordance of its population. According to Nepal National census of 2001 its population is 1,622,421. Magar people are mostly live in far Western part of Nepal. Densely Magar populated district of Nepal are: Myagdi, Baglung, Puthan, Rolpa, Rukum, Syangja, Parbat. However, Magar people live less or more in all and every part of Nepal.


Magar people speak their own mother language ‘Magar’. There are three types of Magar Language. These are as belows:

1. Bara Magarat- This language is mostly spoken in Bara Magarat Region.

2. Athara Magarat (Kham)- This language is spoken in Athara Magarat Region.

3. Kaike- This language is spoken in Dolpa District of Nepal.

They also speak Nepali (National Language of Nepal) and educated Magar people speak excellent English.


Largest number of Magar people follow the Hindu religion. 74.60% Magar are Hindu and Only 24.47% Magar are Buddhist. They invite to the Priest in their both birth and cremation.


Magar people celebrate several festivals in their own ways. The most famous festival of Magar people is Maghe Sangkranti (falls in every 1st of Magh). The magar people also celebrate several festival in different season like; Bhume Parba (falls in Asar), Dasain and Tihar (it is the main festival of Hindu), Chaite Dhasain, Saune Sankranti,etc.


Magar peoples’ main occupation is agriculture. And also young Magar try to be British Army (Gurkha). Most of the Young Magar at least tries once to be selected in British army in their life. But these they are engaged in different occupation. Like, teaching, public administrator, tourism Industry. Some people follow business, official job, and go to abroad employment.

Sub-caste in Magar:

There are more than 20 sub-castes in Magar community. These are the major sub-castes of Magar; Thapa, Rana, Aale, Pun, Gharti, Budha etc.

Related articles


Gurung is one of the major Indigenous ethnic groups of Nepal. According to Nepal National census of 2001, its population is 543,571 (it is the 2.39% of total population of Nepal. Gurung is also called ‘Tamu’. Gurung caste densely lives in western part of Nepal. The densely Gurung populated district are; Kaski, Lamjun, Gorkha, Syanja, […]

Lichchhavi Kings of Nepal

After the downfall of the Kiranti rule, Some dynasty came into power. Only five kings of this dynasty ruled over Nepal. Bhaskerverma was the last king. After that Lichchhavi rule began in Nepal. The Lichchhavis had come to Nepal from India. Vaisalia was the Lichchhavis homeland. After it was destroyed by Ajatsatru, they flew away […]


  1. There are no casts or sub casts (Jats), between Magars.There are only different family groups and all magars fall in a single cast, in Hindu system.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.